Cupboard Full of Young Talent

Let’s look at the eligibility remaining for the bulk of the best college football players in Athens, GA:

Preseason All-SEC QB Aaron Murray is just a redshirt sophomore, and he is backed up by better-than-solid true sophomore Hutson Mason. Isaiah Crowell is already a dominant true freshman runner. WR Malcolm Mitchell is an excellent true freshman wideout and was also perhaps the top cover cornerback in high school. Our 2nd best wideout may be redshirt freshman Michael Bennett or junior tight end Orson Charles, though sometime starters Tavarres King, Marlon Brown and Rantavious Wooten are each juniors. Jay Rome was the top TE recruit in the country. Young freshmen O-Linemen such as (6′,7″, 315 lb.) Watts Dantzler are already beginning to crack the limited rotation.

While versatile Brandon Boykin is having a beyond stellar senior year, the similarly-skilled Branden Smith may mostly fill his role next season, as he is a junior. Freshman CB Damian Swann got his first start Saturday, and he also has great potential on offense, similar to fellow Dream Teamer Nick Marshall. CB/FS Sanders Commings, SS/LB Shawn Williams and SS/FS Baccari Rambo are each valuable juniors. At Nose, Kwame Geathers is a sophomore that refuses to yield his starting spot to highly-regarded JUCO transfer Jonathon Jenkins. ILB Christian Robinson is a hard-hitting junior; ILB Alec Ogeltree a sophomore and future pro who can also play safety. Junior DE Abry Jones is backed up by our top freshman DE, Sterling Bailey. While 2nd in the nation high school DE Ray Drew (S. Carolina’s Jadeveon Clowney was #1) has been moved to OLB at UGA to generate the pass rush missing since Houston bolted early for NFL money. He saw his first action Saturday. OLB Cornelius Washington is a speedy and versatile junior. Stud OLB Jarvis Jones sat out last season after transferring back East from USC. Freshmen LBs Ramik Wilson and Amarlo Herrera are already contributing.

SEC East Title very attainable this season; SEC Champions and maybe more next year. National Title just three years out when Crowell, Mitchell, Swann, Drew, Bailey, Rome will be juniors and Murray, Ogletree, Geathers and Jones All-American seniors.

To follow BIG HAIRY BLAWG on Facebook, go to the new group page there called Big Hairy Blawg and “Like” it.